Monday, October 29, 2007

Transportation committee named..

Hot off the press..well okay..right from my email box. Here's the release sent from Speaker Hackney's office.

"Raleigh – Governor Mike Easley, Senate President Pro Tempore Marc Basnight and House Speaker Joe Hackney today announced the members of a blue-ribbon committee to examine the condition and needs of North Carolina’s transportation system and make recommendations to the General Assembly.
The 21st Century Transportation Committee is a cross-section of 24 elected officials, transportation and engineering experts, business leaders and citizens who will make a preliminary report to the General Assembly by May 1, 2008, and a final report by the end of next year.
"I appreciate the willingness of these North Carolinians to serve on this important committee,” said Easley. “Their combined knowledge, talent and commitment to North Carolina will ensure that the transportation system is examined thoroughly and that thoughtful, creative solutions to the challenges our growing state faces are found"
Senator Basnight said: “North Carolina’s strong economy has resulted in rapid growth that has strained our transportation system. It is my hope that this committee will thoroughly examine our needs both in rural and urban areas and propose innovative solutions. An objective study with input from many points of view is the best way to build a consensus and address our needs so that our great state continues to prosper.”
Speaker Hackney said: "There is no doubt this state has transportation needs, but before we can approach those needs in a comprehensive way we need to better understand what they are. A careful, independent analysis will allow us to make sure we are moving ahead efficiently and spending taxpayer money in the best way possible. This committee will provide that important independent voice and help this state prepare its infrastructure for the years ahead."

The 21st Century Transportation Committee will study:
Ways to improve the transportation systems of the State in order to promote economic growth and ensure that the State can compete and participate in the global economy.
Innovative methods to fund the transportation needs of the State, including an examination of traditional and nontraditional methods of financing transportation infrastructure.
Priorities of the Department of Transportation, including methods to ensure adequate funding for corridors and projects of statewide significance.
Methods to use new and innovative technology to improve the transportation system.
Options for local transportation funding.
Ways to adequately fund road construction to address urban congestion and to improve mobility.
Methods to spend transportation funds in the most effective and cost efficient manner, including ways to use recycled materials, and reuse and recycle road materials.
Ways to ensure the continued safety of the current transportation system, including an analysis of the safety and reliability of bridges in the State.
The appropriate division of responsibility for transportation infrastructure between State and local government and any federal role in providing transportation infrastructure needs.
The role of ports, airports, mass transit, rail, and pedestrian and cycling access in providing the transportation needs of the State.
Public transportation needs in urban areas.
Methods to encourage fuel conservation and energy conservation in North Carolina.

The following individuals were appointed to the Committee:

Appointees Recommended by the Governor:
Chair: Mr. Brad Wilson, Chief Operating Officer of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of NC and member (past Chair) of UNC Board of Governors, Chair, Wake County
The Honorable Terry Bellamy, Mayor of Asheville, Buncombe County The Honorable Sam Hunt, former NC Transportation Secretary, Alamance County The Honorable Allen Joines, Mayor of Winston-Salem, Forsyth County Mr. Gregory Plemmons, Vice President of Old Dominion Global, Guilford County Mr. Charles F. Bowman, Principal Compliance Executive for Bank of America, Mecklenburg County The Honorable Chuck McGrady, County Commissioner, Henderson County Mr. D. Jordan "Jordy" Whichard, III, Publisher of Cox NC Publications and Chair of NC Economic Development Board, Pitt County

President Pro Tempore Appointments
Senator David Hoyle, Gaston County Senator Clark Jenkins, Edgecombe County Senator Richard Stevens, Wake County Dr. Joseph Monroe, Dean of the College of Engineering, NC A&T State University, Guilford County Mr. Lanny Wilson, North Carolina Board of Transportation Member, New Hanover County Mr. Billy Sewell, President of Platinum Corral, Onslow County Mr. Stephen Zelnak, Jr., CEO of Martin Marietta, Wake County The Honorable Richard Blackburn, County Commissioner, Ashe County

Speaker of the House Appointments
Representative Nelson Cole, Rockingham County Representative Becky Carney, Mecklenburg County Representative Lorene Coates, Rowan County Representative Phillip Frye, Mitchell County Representative William C. "Bill" McGee, Forsyth County Representative William L. Wainwright, Craven County The Honorable George W. Miller, Jr., former Representative, Durham County Ms. Nina Szlosberg, Owner of Napro Communications, North Carolina Board of Transportation Member, Wake County

No comments: